Questions About Faith

everyone has questions — what are yours?

The Intersection of Reason and Faith

on July 23, 2014

Recently I posted online:

“I’ll share these gospels of John in my community but most of my ministry is as an apologist on the web. My background is in astrophysics and there is no conflict between my faith and my field. It is not illogical, unscientific, or silly to explore a relationship with the creator of this beautiful universe (Ps 19:1-4, Rom 1:20).”

Here’s what those Bible verses say:

The heavens declare the glory of God;
the skies proclaim the work of his hands.
2 Day after day they pour forth speech;
night after night they display knowledge.
3 There is no speech or language
where their voice is not heard.
4 Their voice goes out into all the earth,
their words to the ends of the world.

Psalm 19:1-4 (NIV84)

20 For since the creation of the world God’s invisible qualities–his eternal power and divine nature–have been clearly seen, being understood from what has been made, so that men are without excuse.

Romans 1:20 (NIV84)

Someone replied with the question:

“What books do you like the best on this subject?”

To which I replied:

“I’m not sure which subject you mean, so here are several answers:

APOLOGETICS

I’ve made a lot of use of my Baker Topical Guide to the Bible when researching topics. I find that concordances are difficult to use because you have to know the exact word rather than the topic in general. It is merely scripture listed under doctrinal headings, so it isn’t just someone’s opinion, either.

I’ve also got A Ready Defense (McDowell) and On Guard (Craig) on my back burner for another project but have really enjoyed the half or so I’ve read of each. I also have a textbook from college called God and Philosophy in the Middle Ages, which includes writings from Christian apologists (Anselm, Augustine, et al.), along with some from Jews and Muslims. This is interesting from historical and cross-cultural perspectives.

ASTROPHYSICS

One of my favorites is a book called Inventing Reality: Physics as Language (sadly out of print but available used on Amazon). Like a lot of other popular science books, it gives a layman overview of the development of modern physics. What I really like about this one is its explanation that scientific models are not necessarily intended to describe reality, rather to make reliable predictions. For example, the idea of gravity as stretched space-time is a description of the behavior, not necessarily asserting that there is an actual fabric of space-time.

INTERSECTION OF REASON AND FAITH

C. S. Lewis’s Mere Christianity shows the logical journey from atheist to apologist for one of Christianity’s prominent defenders. What I love about this book is that these are arguments that were effective in at least one person’s life.

I also enjoy the Intelligent Design films from Illustra Media (see YouTube, especially Unlocking the Mystery of Life).

OVERALL

But above all, the BIBLE is my favorite, the best book on apologetics and life. I’m really fond of Romans and Hebrews.

Thank you for your interest,

~ Sunny”

Let me know what you think or any questions you may have

